Skip Navigation LinksBruton-Awards-Past-Recipients

Advertising Disclaimer

The Ogden C. Bruton Award

Past Recipients
​Year ​Recipients
​2013 ​Susan Whiteway, MD, FAAP
Inhibition of cyclin-dependent kinase 6 suppresses cell proliferation and enhances radiation sensitivity in medulloblastoma cells
​2012 ​Nicole R. Dobson, MD, FAAP
Leukemia/Lymphoma-Related Factor (LRF) Regulates Oligodendrocyte Lineage Cell Differentiation in the Developing CNS
​2011 MAJ Thornton S. Mu, MD
Removal of Pro-inflammatory Cytokines to Reduce Pulmonary and Systemic Inflammation via Continuous Renal Replacement Therapy in a Piglet ECMO Model Incorporating Controlled Hemorrhage​
​2010 MAJ Justin DeVito, DO
​Is IL-13 Important in a Murine Model of Ulcerative Colitis?
​2009 CAPT Matthew Eberly, MD
Massive Infection of Memory CD4T Cells is Associated with Significant Increase in IL-15 Production During Acute Simian Immunodeficiency Virus​
​2008 MAJ Thomas C. Newton, MD
Cancer Stem Cells in Neuroblastoma- A Comparison of Pre-Treatment and Relapased Models​
​2007 MAJ Kirk Jensen
Targeting of epigenetic regulators of thyroid cancer​
​2004 MAJ Susan Dotzer, USAF, MC
The Distribution of Corticotropin Releasing Hormone in the Fetus, Newborn, Juvenile and Adult Baboon​
​2003 CAPT Jerri Curtis, MC, USN
​Identification of the Group B Streptococcal pulmonary Hypertensive Factor
​2002 MAJ Jay Kerecman, USAF, MC
​Pulmonary Surfactants Decrease Alveolar Macrophage Cytokine and Nitric Oxide Production
​2001 MAJ Margret E Merino, MC, USA
​Immunomagnetic Purging of Ewing’s Sarcoma from Peripheral Blood and Bone Marrow: Quantitation by Real-Time PCR
​2000 MAJ Arthur de Lorimier, MC, USA
​Murine Antibody Response to a Vaccine for Entertoxigenic Escherichia coli
​1999 COL Bradley A Yoder, USAF, MC
​The Immature Baboon: A New Model for Neonatal Chronic Lung Disease
​1998 MAJ Julia A Lynch, MC, USA
​Cytotoxic T-Cell Response to Conserved and Variable HIV proteins among HLA Disparate North American and Thai’s
​1997 MAJ Jeffrey S Shenberger, USAF, MC
Role of Interleukin-4 (IL-4) in H. polygyrus-induced Changes in Epithelial Transport​
​1996 MAJ William D Biediger, USAF, MC
​Cloning of the Gene for the ETEC Adhesion CS17
​1995 LCDR Michael J Nowicki, MC, USNR
​Glucocorticoids Up-Regulate Taurocholate Transport by the Ileal Brush Border Membrane
​1994 LCDR John A McQueston, MC, USN
Changes in Endothelial-Dependent and Independent Vasodilation During Chronic Intrauterine Pulmonary Hypertension​
​1993 MAJ David Nickels, MC, USA
​Prevention of Diabetic Nephropathy: Potential New Mechanisms
​1992 MAJ Edward Stevens, MC, USA
Furosemide Differentially Relaxes Airway and Vascular Smooth Muscle in Fetal, Newborn and Adult Guinea Pigs​
​1991 LCDR Steve Savarino, MC, USN
​Identification of a Plasmid Locus Required for Adherence of Enteroaggressive E. Coli to HEP-2 Cells
​1990 CPT John Kinsella, MC, USA
​Cardiac Output and Organ Flow in the Premature with Hyaline Membrane Disease

MAJ Melin Robb, MC, USA
Virologic Characterization of HIV Infection in Infants and Children
​1989 LTC Thomas Wiswell, MC, USA
The Effect of Different High Frequency Ventilator Strategies on the Propagation of Tracheobronchial Histopathologic Changes​
​1988 MAJ Howard Heiman, MC, USA
Pre- and Postnatal Exposure to Immunization-Induced Antibody Prevents Group B Streptococcal Infections​
​1987 LCDR Julian F Keith, MC, USN
​Maternal Protein Deprivation During Late Gestation: impact on the Mother, Fetus, and Neonate
​1986 CAPT Victor Pineiro, USAF, MC
​Alteration of Intestinal Motility After Destruction of Enteric Serotonergic Neurons
​1985 COL Cal Hemming, USAF, MC
Investigations into Mechanisms of Adverse Reactions to Formalin Inactivated Respiratory Syncytial Virus (RSV) Vaccine​
​1984 CDR Stephen Golden, MC, USN
​Prostaglandin Release and Pulmonary Artery Hypertension Induced by Group B Streptococcal Extract infusions in Neonatal Lambs
​1983 COL Richard Lampe, MC, USA
Measles Reimmunization in Children Immunized Before on Year of Age​
​1982 LCDR Douglas Sobel, MC, USN
​Angiotensin Mediated Secretion of ACTH from Adenohypophyseal Cells in Monolayer Culture
​1981 LTC William Allen, MC, USA
​Effects of Diazoxide on Proximal Tubular Sodium Reabsorption
​1980 LTC Gerald Fischer, MC, USA
​Direct Effect of Type Specific Antibod on Surface Morphology and Viability of Type III Group B Streptococcus
​1979 CDR Harold Koenig, MC, USA
Immune Suppression of Erythropoiesis in Transient Erytroblastopenia of Childhood​
​1978 MAJ Alan Mease, MC, USA
​Newborn Neutrophil Membrane Abnormalities
​1977 MAJ Jerry D Reeves, USAF, MC
Host Defense in Infantile Malignant Osteoporosis​
​1976 LTC Russell Steele, MC, USA
​Cellular Immune Responses to Herpes During Treatment of ARA-A
​1975 MAJ William Oetgen, MC, USA
L-Citrulline in the Treatment of Ryes Syndrome​
​1974 CPT Gerald Fischer, MC, USA
Immunopotentiation with Levamisole​
​1973 CPT John Ries, MC, USA
​CSF Lactic Acid and pH in Meningitis
​1972 CPT Richard Bland, MC, USA
​Cord Proteins and Prognosis in Respiratory Disease Syndrome
​1971 CPT David Kerns, MC, USA
Ampicillin Rash – Etiologic Considerations​
​1970 CPT Charles Hyman, MC, USA
​Parental Hyperalimentation
​1969 MAJ Alva Strickland, MC, USA
Growth Retardation in Cushing’s Syndrome​

Learn more about the award.