Skip Navigation LinksExecutive-Committee

Advertising Disclaimer

Executive Committee


COCIT is led by an 11-member Executive Committee. Members of the Executive Committee are elected by their peers within COCIT.

The FY17-18 COCIT Executive Committee is:

  • ​Emily Webber, MD, FAAP, Chairperson
  • Gregg M. Alexander, DO, Vice Chairperson
  • Eric L. Beyer, MD, FAAP
  • Sandy Chung, MD, FAAP, FACHE
  • Alexander M. Hamling, MD, MBA, FAAP
  • Eric S. Kirkendall, MD, FAAP
  • Ann M. Mann, MD, FAAP
  • Stephen J. Morgan, MD, FAAP
  • Eric Shelov, MD, FAAP
  • Srinivasan Suresh, MD, MBA, FAAP
  • Jeffrey A. Wright, MD, FAAP
  • Stuart Weinberg, MD, FAAP, Immediate Past Chairperson

​In addition to the elected members of the Executive Committee, COCIT has established strategic liaison relationships with other member groups within the AAP. These liaisons participate in Executive Committee meetings and play an active role in accomplishing the work of COCIT.

Melissa Van Cain, MD

Section on Pediatric Trainees

I am excited about being the SOPT liaison to COCIT. I have a passion for using innovative technologies to improve medical care. I have a strong background in technology including a BS in Mechanical Engineering. Before going to medical school I worked as a Process Engineer where I used computers and technology to streamline the product design process. In medical school I helped found the WCMC Technology Committee to facilitate communication between the administration and students about integrating technology into the curriculum. Being the SOPT liaison to COCIT allows me to better understand how the AAP and pediatricians are using CIT and the challenges they face integrating CIT into clinical practice. I hope to connect with other pediatricians who share m passion for CIT and how it can enhance medicine.