Skip Navigation LinksHolroyd-Sherry-Award

Advertising Disclaimer

Holroyd-Sherry Award

The award was established in 2000 in honor of H. James Holroyd, MD, FAAP, and S. Norman Sherry, MD, FAAP, whose leadership in the medical profession has called serious attention to the powerful influence mass media have on the health and well-being of children and adolescents. Drs Holroyd and Sherry were instrumental in initiating the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) ongoing examination of the media's relationship to such factors as aggressive behavior and violence, substance use and abuse, nutrition, obesity, sexuality, body-image, self-concept, and school performance. Their longstanding commitment as ardent spokespersons, policy-makers, researchers, and advocates of media literacy has led to enormous progress and greater understanding of these issues, and has made a significant difference in the lives of children.

Dr Holroyd chaired the Task Force on Children and Television from 1983 to 1985. This task force authored the first AAP policy on the role of television in children's lives and was the predecessor to the Committee on Communications (COC) on which Dr. Holroyd served from 1993 to1998. He chaired the Media Resource Team from 1994 to 1996, a group which consulted with television and motion picture industries to ensure that pediatric health issues are conveyed accurately and appropriately. Dr Holroyd also represented the Academy in negotiations with the television industry to establish the ratings system that helps parents choose suitable programs for children.

Dr Sherry chaired the Council on Child and Adolescent Health from 1981 to 1985. He served on the COC from 1993 to 1998 and was a founding member of the Task Force on Children and Television from 1983 to 1986, playing a major role in establishing the first AAP policy on television as a children's health issue. By recommending parents set limits on their children's television viewing choices and habits, and encouraging media education as a way to help children become critical viewers, these early efforts helped to underscore the importance of a pediatrician's role in youth education.

Qualifications and Nomination Procedure

The AAP will recognize one Fellow of the Academy whose outstanding contributions have demonstrated that media's influence on child and adolescent health is an important public health issue, and whose work in the areas of advocacy, legislation, research, and professional or public education addresses and/or suggests solutions to the health implications raised by child and adolescent use of media. Current members of the executive committee for the Council on Communications and Media, or employees of the AAP, may not be nominated. Self nomination is allowed.

An inscribed crystal award will be presented to the award winner at a district or chapter meeting.

The deadline for submissions is March 12, 2018. ​

2018 Nomination Form​​​

To submit, mail to:
Department of Public Affairs
Re: Holroyd-Sherry Award
American Academy of Pediatrics
141 Northwest Point Blvd.
Elk Grove Village, IL 60007
Tel: (800) 433-9016 ext. 4315

For information, contact Deandra Galarde in the AAP Public Affairs, at 800-433-9016, ext. 7877, or e-mail​

Previous Holroyd-Sherry Award Recipients
2017     Daniel D. Broughton, MD, FAAP
2016     Dimitri Christakis, MD, MPH
2010     Lewis First, MD, FAAP
2009     Donald L Shifrin, MD, FAAP
2008     Bob McCannon
2007     Rosario Gonzalez de Rivas MD, FAAP
2006     Carden Johnston, MD, FAAP
2005     Michael O. Rich, MD, MPH, FAAP
2004     Steven P. Shelov, MD, MS, FAAP
2003     Gilbert L. Fuld, MD, FAAP
2002     William H. Dietz, MD, PhD, FAAP
2001     Marjorie J Hogan, MD, FAAP
2000     Victor C Strasburger, MD, FAAP