Skip Navigation LinksResearch-Award

Advertising Disclaimer

Research Award


The Section on Hospital Medicine (SOHM) Abstract Research Award recognizes outstanding original research presented as part of the National Conference & Exhibition (NCE).  Each recipient receives $1,000 honorarium and a plaque presented as part of the SOHM academic and scientific program.

Only original research submissions directly related to Pediatric Hospital Medicine for abstract presentation during the SOHM program will be considered.  Case presentations will not be eligible.  Past winners (or BOD members/leaders from the sponsoring organization) will also be ineligible.  Only one award will be given annually.

​Section and council programs held at the NCE cover clinical matters or research related to subspecialty or special interest areas. Submissions by AAP members and nonmembers are welcome, with participation open to health professionals in any field.

Visit the Call for Abstracts site at for detailed instructions or For questions, call 800/433-9016, ext. 4079, or e-mail

2017 winner: Amanda Jichlinski, MD, FAAP

​Past Winners:

2007: Su-Ting Terry Li, MD, FAAP 
2008: Karen Wilson, MD, FAAP
2009: Samir Shah, MD, FAAP
2010: Anand K. Sekaran, MD, FAAP 
2011: Paul L. Aronson, MD, FAAP
2012: JoAnna K. Leyenaar, MD, FAAP 
2013: B. Alex Foster, MD, MPH, FAAP
2014: Todd A. Florin, MD, MSCE, FAAP
2015: Sybil Ann Klaus, MD, FAAP
2016: Rebecca Rosenberg, MD, FAAP

See example of an award winning abstract.

Supported by an educational grant from Abbott Nutrition, a division of Abbott Laboratories, Inc.