​Section on Ne​phrology​

-A   +A


​Henry L​. Barnett Award

​​This award was established in 1990 as the "Kidney Award", but the name was changed in 1994 to the Henry L. Barnett Award to recognize the contributions of Dr Barnett to the field of pediatric nephrology.

Nomination Process

​The Pediatric History Center (PHC) houses all historic and official Academy records. Publications, policy statements, selected documents, photographs, and books on AAP history are preserved as a lasting record and resource that documents the Academy role in “advancing child health”.  The PHC also includes oral histories, interviews of pediatric leaders including Dr. Henry Barnett.  You can view this interview here.​

​​Qualifications and Nominations Procedure

​The AAP Section on Nephrology (SONp) recognizes one individual yearly for lifetime achievement in the field of pediatric nephrology.  Any pediatric nephrologist can be nominated for this award.  This individual should meet one or both of the following qualifications:
  • Dedication to teaching of nephrology
  • Contributions to advocacy for children
  • Distinguished service to the field of pediatric nephrology

Current members of the SONp Executive Committee may not be nominated.  Nominations must be in writing and should clearly state the basis for the recommendation, including the nominee’s qualifications for the award and examples of relevant achievements.  Please submit the Nomination Form, Nomination Letter, along with a copy of the nominee’s CV, electronically, via fax (847/434-8000 attn: Suzanne Kirkwood) or to the address below by September 30, 2019.

American Academy of Pediatrics
Section on Nephrology
345 Park Blvd
Itasca, IL 60143

Please note: Previous nominations will be considered for 3 consecutive years. Nominations are limited to one per nominator.

Advertising Disclaimer
            print           email           share