The Committee on Nutrition (CON) studies the nutritional needs of infants, children, and adolescents and develops guidelines for the pediatrician based on sound, objective, clinical science as well as practical experience in fostering optimal health status. CON also maintains active liaisons with the Food and Drug AdministrationUnited States Department of Agriculture (USDA)Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)National Institutes of Health (NIH), and the Canadian Paediatric Society, pursues advocacy opportunities which promote healthy dietary habits; and provides technical assistance as needed relative to the federal regulatory process.

The Committee on Nutrition's Samuel J. Fomon Award recognizes an individual or a project for outstanding achievement in research relating to the nutrition of infants and children here.

View policy statements

Committee Members

Mark R. Corkins, MD, FAAP
Memphis, TN

Cynthia Blanco, MD, FAAP
San Antonio, TX

George Joseph Fuchs, III, MD, FAAP
Lexington, KY

Tamara S. Hannon, MD, FAAP
Indianapolis, IN

Amy Peterson, MD, FAAP
Madison, WI

Ellen S. Rome, MD, MPH, FAAP
Cleveland, OH

Praveen Sundaraj Goday, MD, FAAP
Columbus, OH


Ana Sant'Anna, MD (CPS)
Montreal, QC

Cheryl Funanich, MEd, RD, LD (USDA)
Alexandria, VA

Heather Hamner, PhD, MS, MPH
Atlanta, GA

Andrea Lotze, MD, FAAP (FDA)
College Park, MD

Andrew Alan Bremer, MD, PhD, FAAP (NIH)
Bethesda, MD

Contact CON


Last Updated



American Academy of Pediatrics