Outstanding Achievement Award

The Section on Epidemiology, Public Health, and Evidence and the Council on Community Pediatrics recognize a pediatrician who has made outstanding contributions toward advocating for children and child health in the community through the effective use of epidemiologic information. 

Following are the past recipients:

No award given (2023)
Jessica Rieder, MD (2022)
No award given (2021)
Carmen Ramos-Bonoan, MD, FAAP (2020)
Ruth Etzel, MD, PhD, FAAP (2019)
John I. Takayama, MD, MPH, FAAP (2018)
Shetal I. Shah, MD, FAAP (2017)
Mona Hanna-Attisha, MD, MPH, FAAP (2016) 
Robert Amler, MD, FACPM, FAAP (2015)​
Anisha I. Patel, MD, MSPH, FAAP (2012)
Gary A. Smith, MD, DrPH, FAAP (2011)
Shannon Thyne, MD, FAAP (2010)​
Laurene Mascola, MD, MPH, FAAP (2009)​
Katherine A. Poehling, MD, MPH, FAAP (2008)​

Leistikow Lifetime Achievement Award 

Recognizes career leadership in promoting evidence-based methods to improve pediatric care.

Following are the past recipients:

Daniel Neuspiel, MD, MPH, FAAP (2016) 
Dan has dedicated his career to the incorporation of evidence-based medicine and epidemiology into pediatric care. Dan was an early member of the Section on Epidemiology of the American Academy of Pediatrics. He served as a member of the Section on Epidemiology Executive Committee from 1995-2000. He has also played a significant role in the Council on Quality Improvement and Patient Safety where he was an early member  of the Executive Committee, and its predecessor, the Steering Committee on Quality Improvement and Management. He continues to work on the Guidelines, Evidence and Transparency Subcommittee. He continues to support the SOEPHE as the epidemiologist for the Fluid Management Clinical Practice Guideline Subcommittee. He also has been a key contributor to the success of AAP Grand Rounds.

In addition to the qualifications highlighted above, Dan has a personal connection to this award. He knew Dr. Leistikow personally, was integral to the establishment of this award and nominated the two other Leistikow recipients, Drs. Virginia Moyer and Tom Newman.

Thomas B. Newman, MD, MPH, FAAP (2010)
Virginia Moyer, MD, MPH, FAAP (2007)​