Henry L​. Barnett Award

​​This award was established in 1990 as the "Kidney Award", but the name was changed in 1994 to the Henry L. Barnett Award to recognize the contributions of Dr Barnett to the field of pediatric nephrology.

​The Pediatric History Center (PHC) houses all historic and official Academy records. Publications, policy statements, selected documents, photographs, and books on AAP history are preserved as a lasting record and resource that documents the Academy role in “advancing child health”.  The PHC also includes oral histories, interviews of pediatric leaders including Dr. Henry Barnett.

​​Qualifications and Nominations Procedure

​The AAP Section on Nephrology (SONp) recognizes one individual yearly for lifetime achievement in the field of pediatric nephrology. Any pediatric nephrologist can be nominated for this award. This individual should meet one or more of the following qualifications:

  • Dedication to teaching of nephrology
  • Contributions to advocacy for children
  • Distinguished service to the field of pediatric nephrology

Note that the core criteria to be considered by the Award Committee are contributions to teaching, advocacy and service in the field of pediatric nephrology. Other achievements in research, general pediatrics etc may also be considered as secondary contributions or factors.

The call for nominations is now closed.

Watch for more information regarding the 2025 process in summer 2024.


Last Updated



American Academy of Pediatrics