Mission: to support & encourage trainee research 

The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), Section on Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine, and Johnson & Johnson Pediatric Institute initiated the Marshall Klaus Perinatal Research Awards with the goal of enhancing and supporting development of research skills among physicians training in Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine. These awards provide partial support intended to assist outstanding fellows in initiating or completing their research projects. 

The Marshall Klaus Award is given every year in honor of Marshall H. Klaus, M.D. Dr. Klaus was an internationally known neonatologist and scientist. Dr. Klaus was the author or coauthor of several standard works in the field, including Bonding, Care of the High Risk Newborn, Mothering the Mother and The Amazing Newborn. He taught pediatrics at the University of California, San Francisco, School of Medicine and has had exceptional influence as researcher, professor of pediatrics in American medical schools and abroad. 

Program Description ​​

The American Academy of Pediatrics Neonatal-Perinatal Research Grant Program is designed to give neonatal fellows an opportunity to initiate and complete research projects related to their professional interests. $5,000 grants are available to qualifying trainees. Projects may be related to the full spectrum of child health research, such as perinatal-neonatal health, behavioral sciences, biomedical science, epidemiology, health services, prevention, public health, quality improvement, and quality measurement. Trainees must conduct their research under the supervision of a mentor within his or her own department or with other basic, clinical, or social scientists within the trainee's institution. Research projects can be conducted for a maximum of two years and should be completed during fellowship. The Section on Neonatal Perinatal Medicine's Research Committee considers each application in light of the following criteria: significance of the topic, innovation, proposed methodology, feasibility to complete during fellowship, and relevance to the trainee's career goals. It is of particular importance that the mentor provides a clear plan of mentorship and outlines explicitly what role he or she will take in order to support the trainee in the conduct of the project. ​

Award recipients will be expected to submit their research findings in an abstract to the AAP National Conference & Exhibition (NCE) Section on Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine fall meeting. If selected for oral presentation, Klaus awardees are eligible for a travel award to pay for economy airfare, lodging and other expenses associated with participating at the NCE as outlined in the AAP Travel Guidelines. In addition, recipients will be asked to complete a brief follow-up survey to assist with the evaluation of the program. 

This year, there are 4 types of awards fellows can apply for by the same process:

  • Bench or Clinical Research Award (sponsored by SoNPM of AAP, Johnson & Johnson Pediatric Institute)
    • Up to 12 awards per year. Topics include all areas of perinatal and neonatal medicine. Similar numbers of awards will be given for highly ranked laboratory-based research, translational research and clinical studies.
  • Health Services Research Award (sponsored by the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center)
    • Up to 2 awards per year. Topics include all areas of perinatal and neonatal medicine. Similar numbers of awards will be given for highly ranked studies on perinatal health disparities, resource utilization, social determinants of health and others.
  • Education Research Award (sponsored by Brodsky & Martin’s Neonatology Review series)
    • Up to 1 award per year. Topics include development and implementation of a new educational curriculum, creation of an assessment tool to measure effectiveness of an educational program, initiation of a research project aimed at using innovative strategies to improve teaching and traning in neonatology. The target audience can include any of the following: neonatology fellows, pediatric residents, medical students, summer students, NICU clinicians (including nurses and nurse practitioners), and obstetrical residents.  Of specific interest are projects that can be completed during fellowship, or, if the project has multiple phases, one phase can be completed during fellowship; can be sustained both programmatically and financially following implementation, if relevant; and has generalizability to other programs.
  • NEC Research Award (sponsored by NEC Society)
    • Up to 1 award per year.  Proposals should focus on research or innovations that would impact necrotizing enterocolitis and its impact on newborns families.  Primary areas of focus could include NEC diagnosis, treatment, and prevention.  Other topics include management of long-term complications of NEC, approaches to improve family engagement in care of infants with NEC, and projects addressing use of human milk and other strategies to reduce the risk of NEC. 


Application and Guidelines

Basic application and award guidelines are dates are identical for all 4 awards but applications will be reviewed by different panels of experts in respective fields. ​​


Important Dates and Resources

January 31, 2024 | 11:59pm CST - Deadline for application and research proposal.
June 1, 2024 - Grants to be funded will be finalized.
July 14, 2024 - All applicants will be notified and research grants will be mailed.

2024 Marshall Klaus Application Form​
Klaus Signature Page​
Sample Klaus bio
Sample Klaus science​
2023 Klaus Awardees 
2022 Klaus Awardees
2021 Klaus Awardees
2020 Klaus Awardees
2019 Klaus Awardees


​The Section for Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine Research Committee

Joern-Hendrik Weitkamp, MD FAAP (Chair) Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Brian Hackett, MD, PhD, FAAP (District IV) Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Thomas Raffay, MD, FAAP (District V),UH Rainbow Babies and Children's Hospital
Krithika Lingappan MD, FAAP (District VII) Texas Children’s Hospital
Jason Gien, MD FAAP (District VIII) University of Colorado  
Tara Randis, MD, FAAP (District X) University of South Florida
Trent Tipple, MD, FAAP (District X) The University of Alabama at Birmingham

For any questions about the Marshall Klaus Award, please contact: Joern-Hendrik Weitkamp, MD.​ 



Last Updated



American Academy of Pediatrics