Since 2000, the American Academy of Pediatrics Tobacco Consortium has set an agenda for child and adolescent tobacco prevention and cessation. This agenda has been incorporated into the scientific, educational and policy mission and goals of the Richmond Center. The Tobacco Consortium agenda includes youth tobacco prevention and control, children's exposure to secondhand smoke, social policy and international issues. The consortium explores cutting-edge research and literature synthesis using a participatory agenda-setting process among its members. Membership includes junior and senior researchers committed to addressing tobacco as a child and adolescent health issue. Members are nominated for inclusion in the consortium, and voted on by the AAP Board of Directors. 

Members of the consortium provide input in the development of grants related to child health care, children and secondhand smoke, and pediatric tobacco issues. Consortium activities also include numerous publications and presentations at national professional meetings on child health and tobacco control. 

The deadline to apply for membership to the AAP Tobacco Consortium has passed. To be updated on when the next application cycle will be, join the AAP Richmond Center email list.

Executive Summary 

AAP Tobacco Consortium Members 

Chair: Karen M. Wilson, MD, MPH, FAAP
University of Rochester

Rachel Boykan, MD, FAAP
Stony Brook University School of Medicine

Deepa R. Camenga, MD, MHS, FAAP
Yale University

Christie Gloria Cherian, MD
University of Central Florida College of Medicine

Kar-Hai Chu, PhD
University of Pittsburgh

Hongying (Daisy) Dai, PhD
University of Nebraska Medical Center

Ashley Ebersole, MD, MS, FAAP
Nationwide Children’s Hospital

Anna Epperson, PhD
University of California Merced

Mark Gottlieb, JD
Public Health Advocacy Institute, Northeastern University School of Law

Valerie Gribben, MD, FAAP
University of California San Francisco

Judith Groner, MD, FAAP
Nationwide Children's Hospital

Bonnie Halpern-Felsher, PhD
Stanford University

Daniel Hinds, MD, MS, FAAP
University of Iowa 

Brian P. Jenssen, MD, MSHP, FAAP
The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Benjamin Kopp, MD, FAAP
Nationwide Children's Hospital

Juhan Lee, PhD
Yale University School of Medicine

Melinda Mahabee-Gittens, MD, PhD, FAAP
Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center

Sharon McGrath-Morrow, MD, MBA, FAAP
The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia

Robert McMillen, PhD
Mississippi State University

Ashley L. Merianos, PhD
University of Cincinnati

Annie Montreuil, PhD
Institut national de santé publique du Québec

Myra Muramoto, MD, MPH
University of Colorado

Jennifer O'Loughlin, PhD, FCAHS, CRC
University of Montreal

Michael J. Parks, PhD
University of Minnesota

Judith Prochaska, PhD, MPH
Stanford University

Katelyn Romm, PhD
University of Oklahoma

Rajani Sadasivam, PhD
UMass Chan Medical School

Ramzi Salloum, PhD
University of Florida College of Medicine

Elizabeth Schwartz, MD, PhD
VA Connecticut Healthcare System/Yale University

Kimberly Stanislo, DNP, APRN-CNP, LSN CPNP-PC
National Association of School Nurses

Marie-Pierre Sylvestre, PhD
Université de Montréal

Susanne Tanski, MD, MPH, FAAP
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center

Andrea Villanti, PhD, MPH
Rutgers School of Public Health

Erin Vogel, PhD
University of Oklahoma

Susan Walley, MD, FAAP
George Washington School of Medicine and Health Sciences

Robert J. Wellman, PhD, CAS
UMass Chan Medical School

Jonathan P. Winickoff, MD, MPH, FAAP
Harvard Medical School

Sarah Yale, MD, FAAP
Medical College of Wisconsin

Last Updated



American Academy of Pediatrics