Executive Committee

Elected by SOGHN membership, the executive committee works to identify emerging issues, address specific GI, hepatology and nutrition issues, respond to board directives, achieve AAP goals and objectives and comply with policy as specified by the board of directors.

Mitchell B. Cohen, MD, FAAP
Birmingham, AL

David Brumbaugh, MD, FAAP
Aurora, CO

Conrad R. Cole, MD, MPH, FAAP
Cincinnati, OH

Jennifer L. Dotson, MD, FAAP
Columbus, OH

Sanjiv 'Sonny' Harpavat, MD, FAAP
Bellaire, TX

Jenifer R. Lightdale, MD, FAAP
Immediate Past Chairperson
Boston, MA

Daniel Mallon, MD, FAAP
Cincinnati, OH

Michelle Saad, MD, FAAP
Liaison, Section on Pediatric Trainees
Cincinnati, OH

SOGHN Committees

For more information on committee descriptions and members, please see Why Should I Join SOGHN?

  • Policy Statements & Guidelines Committee (Chair – Mitch Cohen, MD, FAAP)
  • Button Battery & Foreign Body Committee (Co-Chairs – David Brumbaugh, MD, FAAP & Elizabeth Sinclair, MD, FAAP)
  • Communications/Website Committee (Chair – David Brumbaugh, MD, FAAP)
  • Patient & Family Education Committee (Chair – Christine Waasdorp Hurtado, MD, FAAP)
  • Advocacy/Annual Leadership Forum Resolutions & Proposals Committee (Chair - Jeannie Huang, MD, MPH, FAAP)
  • Choosing Wisely Committee (Chair - Jennifer Dotson, MD, FAAP)
  • Chapter Speakers Program Committee (Co-Chairs – Sanjiv Harpavat, MD, PhD, FAAP & Angela Sandell, MD, FAAP)
  • Clinical Education Programming Committee (Chair – Carlo Di Lorenzo, MD, FAAP)
  • Trainees & Early Career Gastroenterologists Committee (Chair – Daniel Mallon, MD, FAAP)
Last Updated



American Academy of Pediatrics