The Section on Administration and Practice Management (SOAPM) is directed by a six-member Executive Committee, which is elected by the SOAPM members who are eligible to vote. The Executive Committee may be elected for two 3-year terms, for a total of 6 years. The Chairperson is nominated by the existing Executive Committee members and may serve for two 2- year terms, for a total of 10 years in the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee meets two times a year: once in the Fall at the AAP National Conference and Exhibition and once in the Spring.

Other SOAPM members also serve in leadership capacities; they include:

  • The immediate past-chairperson as ex-officio member

  • The nominating committee chairperson and nominating committee members

  • The editor for SOAPM's biannual newsletter, soapmnews

  • The liaison member to the Committee on Practice and Ambulatory Medicine

  • The liaison from the Section on Medical Students, Residents, and Fellowship Trainees

  • The liaison member to the Committee on Child Health Financing

Executive Committee

Sue Kressly, MD, FAAP
Sea Isle City, NJ

Beth Gallant, DO, FAAP
Roseburg, OR

Mark Helm, MD, FAAP
Silverton, OR

David Horowitz, MD, FAAP
Cary, NC

John Sutter, MD, FAAP
Clifton, NJ

William Zurhellen, MD, FAAP
Holderness, NH


Last Updated



American Academy of Pediatrics