Skip Navigation LinksMedical-Student-Subcommittee

Advertising Disclaimer

Medical Student Subcommittee

Medical Student Subcommittee

Medical students were first offered Academy membership in the early 2000s, and their roles and benefits within the AAP continue to evolve.

In December 2007, the first group of medical students were selected to become members of the Medical Student Subcommittee (MSSC). This was the first time that medical students would have leadership representation within the AAP's Section on Medical Students, Residents, and Fellowship Trainees (SOMSRFT). Since then, this outstanding group of medical students selected from across the nation have worked to develop resources for both medical students and Pediatric Interest Groups.

In the fall of 2013, the MSSC aligned its structure with the resident/fellow leadership by appointing a medical student from each district to serve as the MSSC District Representative (DR) on the subcommittee. In 2014, the MSSC added the role of the MSSC Assistant District Representative (ADR) so that each district would have two medical student representatives, allowing an additional leadership opportunity to be open in each district annually. MSSC members would serve two-year terms: one year as ADR, and the subsequent year as DR.       

Below you will find the names and contact information of the AAP SOMSRFT MSSC members who are currently serving one- to two-year terms on the committee. Please contact your district representative if you have questions, concerns, or would like to become more involved at your institution, local AAP chapter, or nationally in the AAP.

Click here for the Medical Student Subcommittee position description. The new Assistant District Representative positions will serve in the same role, assisting the District Representative in day-to-day duties and initiatives within the district.

Please click here for the 2015 me​dical student subcommittee application​.​



MSSC District Representatives

 District 1

District Representative - Nan Du
Term: 1/1/14-12/31/15
Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University
nan_du@brown.edu
 


Assistant District Representative: 
Gen Guyol
Term: 1/1/15-12/31/16
Boston University School of Medicine
genevieve.guyol@gmail.com​
 


 District 2

District Representative - Chirag Parikh 
Term: 1/1/14-12/31/15
New York Institute of Technology College of Osteopathic Medicine
cparik02@nyit.edu



Assistant District Representative
: Jonathan Witonsky
Term: 1/1/15–12/31/16
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
jonathan.witonsky@med.einstein.yu.edu​



​District 3

District Representative - Ali Mols
Term: 1/1/14 – 12/31/15
West Virginia University School of Medicine
amols@mix.wvu.edu



Assistant District Representative
:Joshua Davis
Term: 1/1/15–12/31/16
Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University
joshua.davis@jefferson.edu



District IV

District Representative - Rob Sellers
Term: 1/1/14 – 12/31/15
University of North Carolina School of Medicine
Robert_sellers@med.unc.edu ​



Assistant District Representative: Sarah Maxwell
Term: 1/1/15–12/31/16
Medical University of South Carolina
maxwelsl@musc.edu​



District V

District Representative - Jennifer Kusma
Term: 1/1/14 – 12/31/15
Ohio State University College of Medicine
Jennifer.kusma@osumc.edu



Assistant District Representative
: Rachel Nash
Term: 1/1/15–12/31/16
Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine
rcnash@oakland.edu ​



District VI

District Representative - Puja Umaretiya
Term: 1/1/13-12/31/15
Mayo Medical School
Umaretiya.Puja@mayo.edu



Assistant District Representative
Nisha Wadhwa
Term: 1/1/15– 12/31/16
University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine
nrwadhwa@uchicago.edu​



​District VII

District V Representative - Beverly Patuwo 
Term: 1/1/14 – 12/31/15
Baylor College of Medicine
patuwo@bcm.edu



Assistant District Representative
Mina Tahai
Term: 1/1/15–12/31/16
University of Mississippi School of Medicine
mtahai@umc.edu



District VIII

District Representative - Anne Taylor
Term: 1/1/15–12/31/15
University of Colorado School of Medicine
anne.taylor11@gmail.com



Assistant District Representative
: Natalie Strokes
Term: 1/1/15 – 12/31/16
A.T. Still University School of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona
nstrokes@atsu.edu​



District IX

District Representative - Christine Thang 
Term: 1/1/13-12/31/15
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
cthang@mednet.ucla.edu



Assistant District Representative
: Jennifer Han
Term: 1/1/15–12/31/16
University of California Riverside School of Medicine
jhan037@ucr.edu​



District X

District Representative: Britta Roach
Term: 1/1/15–12/31/15
Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine - GA Campus
brittanyro@pcom.edu



Assistant District Representative
: Sara Kim
Term: 1/1/15–12/31/16
Florida International University Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine
skim044@fiu.edu



International Student Liaison

Srikruthi Kakulavarapu
Term: 8/1/14-12/31/15
American University of Integrative Sciences, St. Maarten School of Medicine
srikruthi.kakulavarapu@gmail.com

 

 

Newsletter Editor

Aylin Sert
Term: 1/1/15–12/31/16
University of Massachusetts Medical School
aylin.sert@umassmed.edu​

 

Chair

Shannon Brockman
Term: 1/1/15–12/31/15
University of Florida College of Medicine
shannonebrockman@gmail.com​



​Immediate Past Chair

Christian Pulcini, MD, MEd, MPH 
Term: 1/1/14 – 12/31/2014
Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC
Christian.pulcini@gmail.com

 

 

If you have suggestions or ideas, please contact us.

Information, opportunities, and programs for medical students interested in pediatrics.

​​
print