Skip Navigation LinksMedical-Student-Subcommittee

Advertising Disclaimer

Medical Student Subcommittee

 


Medical students were first offered Academy membership in the early 2000s, and their roles and benefits within the AAP continue to evolve.

In December 2007, the first group of medical students were selected to become members of the Medical Student Subcommittee (MSSC). This was the first time that medical students would have leadership representation within the AAP's Section on Medical Students, Residents, and Fellowship Trainees (SOMSRFT). Since then, this outstanding group of medical students selected from across the nation have worked to develop resources for both medical students and Pediatric Interest Groups.

In the fall of 2013, the MSSC aligned its structure with the resident/fellow leadership by appointing a medical student from each district to serve as the MSSC District Representative (DR) on the subcommittee. In 2014, the MSSC added the role of the MSSC Assistant District Representative (ADR) so that each district would have two medical student representatives, allowing an additional leadership opportunity to be open in each district annually. MSSC members would serve two-year terms: one year as ADR, and the subsequent year as DR.       

Below you will find the names and contact information of the AAP SOMSRFT MSSC members who are currently serving one- to two-year terms on the committee. Please contact your district representative if you have questions, concerns, or would like to become more involved at your institution, local AAP chapter, or nationally in the AAP.



MSSC District Representatives

 District I


District Representative: 
Gen Guyol
Term: 1/1/15-12/31/16
Boston University School of Medicine
genevieve.guyol@gmail.com​
 


Assistant District Representative: Molly Markowitz
Term: 1/1/16-12/31/17
University of Vermont College of Medicine
molly.markowitz@med.uvm.edu

 


District II


District Representative
: Jonathan Witonsky
Term: 1/1/15–12/31/16
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
jonathan.witonsky@med.einstein.yu.edu​


Assistant District Representative: Christina Kratlian
Term: 1/1/16–12/31/17
Albany Medical College
kratlic@mail.amc.edu

District III


District Representative
: Joshua Davis
Term: 1/1/15–12/31/16
Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University
joshua.davis@jefferson.edu



Assistant District Representative: Vinh Nguyen
Term: 1/1/16–12/31/17
Howard University College of Medicine
vtn4he@gmail.com



District IV

District Representative: Sarah Maxwell
Term: 1/1/15–12/31/16
Medical University of South Carolina
maxwelsl@musc.edu​


Assistant District Representative: Katherine Pumphrey
Term: 1/1/16–12/31/17
Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine
pumphreyk@vcu.edu



District V


District Representative
: Rachel Nash
Term: 1/1/15–12/31/16
Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine
rcnash@oakland.edu ​


Assistant District Representative: Jared Kusma
Term: 1/1/16–12/31/17
University of Toledo College of Medicine
jared.kusma@gmail.com



District VI


District Representative
Nisha Wadhwa
Term: 1/1/15– 12/31/16
University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine
nrwadhwa@uchicago.edu​


Assistant District Representative: Tracy Marko
Term: 1/1/16– 12/31/17
University of Minnesota Medical School - Twin Cities
tmarko@umn.edu



​District VII


District Representative
Mina Tahai
Term: 1/1/15–12/31/16
University of Mississippi School of Medicine
mtahai@umc.edu


Assistant District Representative: Jane Jarjour
Term: 1/1/16–12/31/17
Baylor College of Medicine
jane.jarjour@bcm.edu



District VIII


District Representative
: Natalie Strokes
Term: 1/1/15 – 12/31/16
A.T. Still University School of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona
nstrokes@atsu.edu​


Assistant District Representative: Jennifer Estanilla
Term: 1/1/16 – 12/31/17
Touro University Nevada College of Osteopathic Medicine
do17.jennifer.estanilla@nv.touro.edu



District IX

District Representative - Jennifer Han
Term: 1/1/13-12/31/15
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
jhan037@ucr.edu


Assistant District Representative: Zarah Iqbal
Term: 1/1/16–12/31/17
Medical school: Stanford School of Medicine
zarah@stanford.edu



District X
District Representative
: Sara Kim
Term: 1/1/15–12/31/16
Florida International University Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine
skim044@fiu.edu



Assistant District Representative: Lauren Nelson
Term: 1/1/16–12/31/17
University of South Alabama College of Medicine
len1421@jagmail.southalabama.edu




International Student Liaison

Shirlynn Chu
Term: 1/1/16-12/31/17
Ross University School of Medicine
chu.althea@gmail.com

 


Newsletter Editor

Aylin Sert
Term: 1/1/15–12/31/16
University of Massachusetts Medical School
aylin.sert@umassmed.edu​

 

Immediate Past Chair

Shannon Brockman
Term: 1/1/16–12/31/17
National Capital Consortium Pediatrics
shannonebrockman@gmail.com​


Chair

Ali Mols
Term: 1/1/16 – 12/31/17
West Virginia University SOM
amols@mix.wvu.edu


If you have suggestions or ideas, please contact us.

Information, opportunities, and programs for medical students interested in pediatrics.

print