Skip Navigation LinksKendig

Advertising Disclaimer

Edwin L. Kendig, Jr. Award

Join Us in Congratulating 
Julian Allen, MD,

2017 Edwin L. Kendig, Jr Award Recipient!  
The award presentation, followed by the honorary lecture presented by Dr Allen, will occur on Friday, February 24, 2017 from 4:40 pm – 5:30 pm during the Celebration of Pediatric Pulmonology and Sleep 2017 at the Loews Royal Pacific Resort in Orlando, Florida.
Julian L. Allen, MD, received his undergraduate and medical degrees from Columbia University in New York, and completed his pediatric internship and residency at Columbia-Presbyterian Medical Center. He completed a fellowship in Pediatric Pulmonology at Harvard Medical School and The Children’s Hospital, Boston. Since 1998, he has been Chief of The Division of Pulmonary Medicine and holds the Robert Gerard Morse Chair in Pediatric Pulmonology at The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia. He is a Professor of Pediatrics at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania.

Dr. Allen has been Chair of the Pediatric Assembly of The American Thoracic Society and Chair of The Pulmonology Subboard of The American Board of Pediatrics. His research interests are lung and chest wall mechanics. He has authored 110 research articles, chapters and review articles.  He is currently the Deputy Editor for Pediatrics of the Annals of the American Thoracic Society. He lives in Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, with his wife Debby. They have 2 sons, Eli and Jeremy.​

This award was established in 2001 in honor of Edwin L. Kendig, Jr., pioneer in the study of pulmonary disease in children. Dr Kendig's lifetime contributions to child health include:
  • founder and director of the first children's chest clinic at the Medical College of Virginia
  • editor of the first textbook in North America devoted to diseases of the chest in children, Disorders of the Respiratory Tract in Children
  • editor of the Virginia Medical Quarterly (formerly Virginia Medical Monthly)
  • author or co-author of more than 200 scientific articles and editorials
  • co-editor of Pediatric Otolaryngology
  • contributing editor to seven other textbooks
  • served on numerous editorial boards, and was a guest lecturer in the United States and internationally.
Dr Kendig served the AAP at the Chapter, District, and National level, including serving as the President (1978 - 1979) and a founding member of the Section on Pediatric Pulmonology (formerly the Section on Disease of the Chest). He also served on the AAP Committee on Medical Education.
Qualifications and Nominations Procedure
The Section on Pediatric Pulmonology and Sleep Medicine will recognize one individual for lifetime achievement in the field of pediatric pulmonology. Any pulmonologist (or related specialty) can be nominated for this award. This individual should meet one or more of the following qualifications:
  • Distinguished clinical service and dedication to patient care
  • Significant contribution to clinical or basic science research in the field of pediatric pulmonology
  • Dedication to the education of pediatric pulmonary fellows or students
Current members of the Section on Pediatric Pulmonology and Sleep Medicine Executive Committee may not be nominated.  A crystal award will be presented at the AAP/ACCP co-sponsored Celebration of Pediatric Pulmonology and Sleep.
Previous Edwin L. Kendig, Jr Award Recipients
2015 - Gregory J. Redding, MD
2013 - Robert E. Wood, MD
2011 - Bettina C. Hilman, MD
2009 - Carl F. Doershuk, MD, FAAP
2008 - Philip M. Farrell, MD, PhD, FAAP
2007 - Victor Chernick, MD
2006 - Lynn M. Taussig, MD, FAAP
2005 - Hugh O'Brodovich, MD
2004 - William W. Waring, MD, FAAP
2003 - Robert B. Mellins, MD, FAAP
2002 - Mary Ellen Wohl, MD, FAAP
2001 - Edwin L. Kendig, Jr, MD, FAAP

View pictures of past Award Recipients.