Skip Navigation LinksAnne-E-Dyson-Child-Advocacy-Award

Advertising Disclaimer

Anne E. Dyson Child Advocacy Award


The AAP Section on Pediatric Trainees (SOPT) Anne E. Dyson Child Advocacy Award, supported by the Dyson Foundation, celebrates the outstanding efforts of pediatricians-in-training as they work in their communities to improve the health of children. Any resident-sponsored and/or resident led project that seeks to advocate on behalf of children is eligible for this award.

This award seeks to showcase projects that are designed and implemented by residents, which aim to improve the lives of children. Projects still in the needs assessment stage will not be considered for this award. We hope that rewarding exemplary resident-driven efforts will promote increased advocacy efforts by residents in the future and provide an opportunity for residents to help each other to plan future advocacy programs. In order to be eligible for the award, the project must have been completed during residency training. Awards are based solely on the application, a letter of support from your faculty sponsor or residency director, and any accompanying materials that are submitted. A committee of current section leaders and Community Pediatrics Training Initiatives (CPTI) members will select three projects to receive this national award.

The Dyson Award program is now OPEN. Please click here​ for the 2016 application.

The Advocacy Award includes the following:

  • $300 in funds to advance the winning projects' goals
  • Travel and lodging expenses for one resident per project to the AAP National Conference and Exhibition.
  • Presentation of the Advocacy Award plaque during the SOPT Assembly Meeting at the conference.
  • Opportunity to display and distribute project information to residents and pediatricians from across the country at the AAP National Conference and Exhibition.
  • Press release and recognition in AAP News, SOPT News and Views & State Chapter newsletters.
Winning applicants should be prepared to submit photos of the project leader and co-leader. If you are sel​ected to receive the award, your application information and photos may be used for follow-up recognition in the aforementioned publications.

Congratulations to the 2015 Anne E. Dyson Child Advocacy Award Winners:

Project Leader Project Title
Elizabeth A. Browder, MD; Haley K. Johnson, MD; and Bonnie McTyre, MDPediatrics 101: A Course for New Teachers
Maya Ragavan, MD and Sarah Lucha (HomeSafe Manager)Health Access and Education Programming for Survivors of Intimate Partner Violence
Ramanan Satchi, MD; Tori Logan, DO; Edmundo Martinez, MD; and, Erica Owchar, MDPromoting Healthy Eating Active Play (PHEAP)


2015 Anne E. Dyson Child Advocacy Awards
2014 Anne E. Dyson Child Advocacy Awards
Anne E Dyson Child Advocacy Award Archives

If you have any questions, please send an e-mail message to: Kimberley VandenBrook or call the AAP at 800/433-9016 extension 7134.