​Sectio​n on Epidemiology, Public Health, and Evidence​​

-A   +A


Outstanding Achievement Award: ​​

The Section on Epidemiology, Public Health, and Evidence and the Council on Community Pediatrics recognize a pediatrician who has made outstanding contributions toward advocating for children and child health in the community through the effective use of epidemiologic information.

Following are the past recipients:

Mona Hanna-Attisha, MD, MPH, FAAP (2016)

Much of Dr. Hanna-Attisha’s recommendations, to provide mitigation resources (nutrition, healthcare access and educational resources) to the lead-exposed Flint community, have been or being planned to be implemented by the Michigan Governor’s Office and the Department of Health and Human Services. Her fearless leadership of her study in Summer and Fall 2015 noting the elevated blooded lead levels associated with elevated water lead levels in Flint opened the door to one of the most complicated public health responses seen in the US. Her continued advocacy at local, state and national levels, her collaboration with water experts, politicians and healthcare colleagues has been vital to the ongoing response and funding.

Robert Amler, MD, FACPM, FAAP (2015)​
Anisha I. Patel, MD, MSPH, FAAP (2012)
Gary A. Smith, MD, DrPH, FAAP (2011)
Shannon Thyne, MD, FAAP (2010)​
Laurene Mascola, MD, MPH, FAAP (2009)​
Katherine A. Poehling, MD, MPH, FAAP (2008)​

Leistikow Lifetime Achievement Award Winners: 

Recognizes career leadership in promoting evidence-based methods to improve pediatric care. Following are the past recipients:

Daniel Neuspiel, MD, MPH, FAAP (2016) 

Dan has dedicated his career to the incorporation of evidence-based medicine and epidemiology into pediatric care.  Dan was an early member of the Section on Epidemiology of the American Academy of Pediatrics. He served as a member of the Section on Epidemiology  Executive Committee from 1995-2000. He has also played a significant role in the Council on Quality Improvement and Patient Safety where he was an early member  of the Executive Committee,and its predecessor,the Steering Committee on Quality Improvement and Management.  He continues  to work on the Guidelines, Evidence and Transparency Subcommittee. He continues  to support the SOEPHE as the epidemiologist for the Fluid Management Clinical Practice Guideline Subcommittee. He also has been a key contributor to the success of AAP Grand Rounds.

In addition to the qualifications highlighted above, Dan has a personal connection to this award.  He knew Dr. Leistikow personally, was integral to the establishment of this award and nominated the two other Leistikow recipients, Drs. Virginia Moyer  and Tom Newman.

Thomas B. Newman, MD, MPH, FAAP (2010)
Virginia Moyer, MD, MPH, FAAP (2007)

Advertising Disclaimer
            print           email           share