Anthony Johnson bio

Anthony Johnson, MD, FAAP

District VII Chair and Secretary/Treasurer

Anthony “Tony” Johnson, MD, FAAP, is the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) District VII Chairperson and has been elected Secretary/Treasurer of the 2019 Board of Directors.

Dr. Johnson is the senior partner at Arkansas Pediatric Clinic in Little Rock Arkansas, where he has practiced general pediatrics for the past 35 years. He received his MD degree from University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences and completed his residency in General Pediatrics at Arkansas Children’s Hospital. Arkansas Pediatric Clinic now has four locations across Central Arkansas and has served the children, adolescents and young adults of Central Arkansas since it was founded by Dr Barney Briggs in the 1930’s.

He has been active with the AAP for more than three decades, during which time he has served as the Arkansas state chapter president and held various leadership roles in the AAP including chair of the AAP Annual Chapter Forum and the National Nominating Committee as well as serving as a member of the Committee on Child Health Finance.

Dr. Johnson was elected chair of District VII in 2013 after serving as district vice chair. His district includes five states; Arkansas, Texas, Oklahoma, Louisiana and Mississippi. Dr Johnson was elected to the position of Secretary/Treasurer of the AAP for 2019 and in this role will serve as Chair of the Audit Committee and on the AAP Executive Committee.

In 2017 he received the Dr. Tom Ed Townsend Award, honoring him as an Arkansas community physician who has provided excellence in healthcare and been a consistent supporter of Arkansas Children’s Hospital. He is a member of AOA and has served as a board member of the Arkansas Medical Society, Francis Allen Exceptional School, Arkansas Med Camps and Arkansas Children’s Hospital. He is married to Denise Johnson, RN and is the proud father of three daughters, Piper, Parker and Phoebe.