Tobacco Consortium

​Tobacco Consortium

Since 2000, the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Tobacco Consortium has set an agenda for child and adolescent tobacco prevention and cessation. This agenda has been incorporated into the scientific, educational, and policy mission and goals of the Richmond Center. The Tobacco Consortium agenda includes youth tobacco prevention and control, children's exposure to secondhand smoke, social policy, and international issues. Membership includes junior and senior researchers committed to addressing tobacco as a child and adolescent health issue. Members are nominated for inclusion in the consortium, and voted on by the AAP Board of Directors.

American Academy of Pediatrics Tobacco Consortium
Call for Members:  Open July 8 – September 11!

The AAP Tobacco Consortium explores cutting edge research and synthesis of the literature on tobacco control and prevention. It uses a participatory agenda-setting process and serves as a forum for scientific exchange and work-in-progress presentations between established and newer investigators committed to child and adolescent health and tobacco control research.

Members of the consortium provide input in the development of programs and grants related to child health care, children and secondhand smoke, and pediatric tobacco issues. Consortium activities also include numerous publications and presentations at national professional meetings on child health and tobacco control.

American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) members and non-members interested in scientific research in child and adolescent tobacco prevention and control are invited to apply for membership in the AAP Tobacco Consortium. 

The AAP Tobacco Consortium is seeking members for the January 1, 2021 – December 31, 2022 term.

The term of appointment for Consortium members is 2 years. Membership terms are renewable in 2-year increments. 

Key Dates:

  • July 8, 2020: Call for Tobacco Consortium Membership Opens 

  • September 11, 2020: Membership applications due by 11:59pm CST

  • September 2020 – November 2020: Membership applications will be reviewed by the AAP Tobacco Consortium Chair and Nominating Committee and approved by the AAP Executive Staff

How to Apply:

Prospective candidates should submit the following documents via email to

  1. Fact Sheet for Members form describing scholarly activities and interests. (LINK TO FORM HERE

  2. A current Biographical Sketch in NIH format. (LINK TO FORM HERE)   

  3. A statement of interest (up to 300 words).

  4. Tobacco Disclosure Statement (LINK TO FORM HERE

Applications are due by September 11, 11:59pm CST. 

Inquiries and Technical Assistance:

For more information about this Call for Nominations or for Technical Assistance with your application, please contact AAP staff at

AAP Tobacco Consortium Curriculum Vitae

Executive Summary

AAP Tobacco Consortium Members

Chair: Karen M. Wilson, MD, MPH, FAAP
Icahn School of Medicine at Mt. Sinai

Alicia Allen, PhD, MPH
University of Arizona Department of Family and Community Medicine

Carla J. Berg, PhD
Emory University Rollins School of Public Health

Rachel Boykan, MD, FAAP
Stony Brook University

Joseph DiFranza, MD
University of Massachusetts Medical School

Mark Gottlieb, JD
Public Health Advocacy Institute, Northeastern University School of Law

Judith Groner, MD, FAAP
Nationwide Children's Hospital

Kimberly Horn, EdD, MSW
The George Washington University

Brian P. Jenssen, MD, FAAP
The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia

Jonathan D. Klein, MD, MPH, FAAP
AAP Julius B. Richmond Center of Excellence, University of Illinois-Chicago, Department of Pediatrics

Benjamin Kopp, MD, FAAP
Nationwide Children's Hospital

Melinda Mahabee-Gittens, MD, MS
Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center

Sharon McGrath-Morrow, MD, MBA, FAAP
Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions

Robert McMillen, PhD
Mississippi State University, Social Science Research Center]\

Ashley L. Merianos, PhD
University of Cincinnati School of Human Services

Myra Muramoto, MD, MPH
University of Arizona College of Medicine

Jennifer O'Loughlin, PhD, FCAHS, CRC
University of Montreal

Lori Pbert, PhD
University of Massachusetts Medical School

Alexander V. Prokhorov, MD, PhD
University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center

Ramzi Salloum, PhD
University of Florida College of Medicine Institute for Child Health Policy

V. Fan Tait, MD, FAAP
American Academy of Pediatrics

Susanne Tanski, MD, MPH, FAAP
Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth

Andrea Villanti, PhD, MPH
Truth Initiative- Schroeder Institute for Tobacco Research and Policy Studies

Susan Walley, MD, FAAP
University of Alabama at Birmingham

Jonathan P. Winickoff, MD, MPH, FAAP
Harvard Medical School, MGH Center for Child & Adolescent Health Policy

Advertising Disclaimer