Skip Navigation LinksF-Edwards-Rushton-Award

aaa print

F. Edwards Rushton Award

Award Description
The F. Edwards Rushton CATCH Award recognizes an outstanding CATCH grantee whose CATCH project has developed over time and expanded beyond its original goals to positively impact child health. 

Named in honor of Francis Edwards Rushton, Sr, MD, FAAP, the founder of CATCH, this award recognizes pediatricians who have advanced the medical home and children's access to health care and other needed services through a CATCH project.​

About F. Edwards Rushton
Dr F. Edwards Rushton, Sr. is remembered as the “father of CATCH”. When he joined the AAP ​staff in 1992, he started a small program focused on giving seed money to community pediatricians to start projects using local resources and partnerships to address local child health issues. During the past two decades, the CATCH program has evolved into one of the most vital programs in the Academy. To date over 1800 grants have been awarded, and many lives have been impacted because of Dr Rushton’s dream. This vision also expanded internationally, resulting in the I-CATCH program. His motto, “One pediatrician can make a difference,” continues to inspire. This award will keep Dr Rushton’s spirit alive.

2020 Award Winner
Jennifer Plumb, M.D., M.P.H., FAAP

2019 Award Winner​
Karen E. Schetzina, M.D., M.P.H., FAAP

2018 Award Winner
I. Leslie Rubin, MD, FAAP 

2017 Award Winner
Diego Chaves-Gnecco, MD, MPH, FAAP

​2016 Award Winner
Carole Stipelman, MD, MPH, FAAP​

2015 Award Winner
Joan Jeung, MD, FAAP

2014 Award Winner
Tom Faber, MD, MPH, FAAP 

2013 Award Winner
Marsha Raulerson, MD, FAAP

Advertising Disclaimer