Skip Navigation LinksArnold-J-Capute-Award

Advertising Disclaimer

Arnold J Capute Award

Award for Notable Contributions to the Field of Children with Disabilities

For many years, Arnold J Capute, MD, FAAP (1923-2003) was a professor of pediatrics at Johns Hopkins University. He was the recipient of the first Arnold J. Capute Professorship in Developmental Disabilities at the Kennedy Krieger Institute and has been credited by many as one of the founding fathers of the field of developmental pediatrics and neurodevelopmental disabilities. In fact, Dr Capute was director of the first training program in developmental pediatrics and trained a majority of the pediatricians in this field. Dr Capute received numerous awards for both teaching and achievement, serving as testimony to his importance at national and international levels.

Dr Capute became a member of the AAP in 1953 and served on the Committee on Child Development as well as the Section on Children With Disabilities Executive Committee. In 2000, the Section on Children with Disabilities established and presented the first Arnold J. Capute award. 

This award is presented annually at the AAP National Conference and Exhibition (NCE) to recognize a physician who has made notable contributions to the health and well-being of children with disabilities through service and/or advocacy at the local, state, or national level. The next Capute Award will be presented at the 2017 NCE.

Past Capute Award Recipients

2017 - Susan E Levy, MD, MPH, FAAP
2016 - Nancy A. Murphy, MD, FAAP
​2015 - James M. Perrin, MD, FAAP
2014 - Scott M. Myers, MD, FAAP
2013 - Susan L. Hyman, MD, FAAP
2012 - Gregory S. Liptak, MD, MPH, FAAP (awarded posthumously)
2011 - Paul H. Lipkin, MD, FAAP
2010 - Bruce K. Shapiro, MD, FAAP
2009 - Merle G. McPherson, MD, MPH, FAAP
2008 - Marshalyn Yeargin-Allsopp, MD, FAAP
2007 - Allen C. Crocker, MD, FAAP
2006 - Mark L. Batshaw, MD, FAAP
2005 - Pasquale J. Accardo, MD, FAAP
2004 - Herbert J. Cohen, MD, FAAP
2003 - Robert H.A. Haslam, MD, FAAP
2002 - Duane F. Alexander, MD, FAAP
2001 - Lawrence T. Taft, MD, FAAP
2000 - Robert E. Cooke, MD, FAAP​