-A   +A

American Board of Medical Specialties

Surgical and Other Specialties (non-ABP)                            

MOC Competencies and Criteria: Through the American Board of Medical Specialties MOC process, board certified physicians in 24 medical specialties (listed below) build six core competencies for quality patient care in their medical specialty. These competencies – professionalism, patient care and procedural skills, medical knowledge,  practice-based learning and improvement, interpersonal and communication skills, and systems-based practice – were first adopted by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and ABMS in 1999. Specialists from each ABMS Member Board create and implement the activities for their specialty. These are built upon evidence-based guidelines, national clinical and quality standards, and specialty best practices.

​* General Certificate, no subspecialties

Advertising Disclaimer
            print           email           share